about ... new ... archive ... rings ... survey ... post ... notes ... dland

Veganism
2003-03-06, 3:34 a.m.

I live in a small town. I am sixteen and because of this I have limited mobility. This frusterates me. I have very strong political beliefs but my situation often makes it hard to act on them.

Because going to marches and protests isn't always an option, I have started thinking seriously about how I can incorporate my politics into everything I do.

I've been a vegetarian since I was six years old and put off veganism because it seemed too difficult. One trip to peta.org showed me that if I eat dairy and eggs, I am a hypocrite.

I know it isn't possible for everyone to go vegan. But I do think everyone should give it a try. It isn't hard at all once you get started. I picked up a vegan cook book at a zine fair I managed to ge too. And there are lots of vegan pizzas, bread and ice cream bars at my local grocery store.

I have grown to love soy milk. I feel great and I know that I'm doing the right thing. I strongly believe that every purchase you make is, in a sense, a vote. If you buy diary and meat, you are supporting animal cruelty, capitalism, and the destruction of the environment.

- erin


previous entries:

Anyone? - 2008-01-24
Saturday Film Series at The Free Speech Zone - 2005-12-30
SLC? - 2005-12-21
Please Post - 2005-07-24
From ImpeachBush.org - 2005-06-20

Refuse and Resist! Sign the Call Now!


New: Fill out the
survey!

prev / next

"Let us rise up tonight with a greater readiness. Let us stand with a greater determination. And let us move on in these powerful days, these days of challenge to make America what it ought to be. We have an opportunity to make America a better nation." - Martin Luther King, Jr.
contact